Taste purity and closeness to nature

What is natural wine or orange wine?

The concepts are here not universal. Basically, orange wine describes a style of wine which is produced in a certain way. It is a skin-fermented white wine (counterpart to Rose – not skin-fermented red) which absorbs through this process more colour and strong tannins (tanning agents). This gives structure and clearly differentiates it from conventional white wines. Orange is known as the forth colour of wine. The forth wine colour has its origins (as many other types of wine as well) in Georgia in its most fertile and valuable cultivated lands. Only because its called orange, doesn’t actually mean that the colour must be orange. The colour spectrum is diverse. Also clouding through floating particles of yeast is possible and is no lessening of quality. “Here with us there are many archaic, skin-fermented, unfiltered, amber-coloured works of wine!”

Amber shows special real wine quality

Naturally, orange wines are compelling for us from bio production. No synthetic and systematic or deep action fungicides or insecticides on the berries. No products on the skins and berries that are hostile to life. Archaic, skin-fermented, unfiltered, amber-coloured, wines – maceration, fermentation, malolactic and maturation on skins in 600 l stettins as with Blanca. Essences from amphorae – maceration, fermentation, malolactic fermentation for up to 1 year in Georgian Kevries, maturation for up to 24 months in large, unglazed clay amphorae. Character, versatility and potential through subtle winemaking. “Earthly & Earthenware!”

“You are what you drink!”

Natural wine as a result of attitude

Behind “natural wines” there is more than just a wine style. Premium wines without additives and technological operations are matured in toasted 600 l stettins according to variety and vintage for up to 36 months. They are archaic, mash fermented , unfiltered amber-coloured works of wine whereby the essences from the amphorae are the crown jewels of wine. White like red sometimes unfiltered with or without sulphur addition. Here the philosophy, the ideological attitude to the wine is decisive to the winemaking process over the actual result. Production starts in the vineyard, then as little work as possible in the cellar to create untreated and unadulterated wines.

PLO_amphoren4

How real wine came about at Ploder – Rosenberg

What is particularly original is the practice of creating in Kevries (amphorae from special clay) very profound and sustainable wines from whole grapes and berries having long periods of  maceration, alcoholic and malolactic fermentations and maturation. This includes increasing healthy components as well as beneficial energy from the power of the earth.

For many years we’ve been growing here our own biological, dynamic vines in our totally diverse gardens of wine in the Vulkanland area of Styria. Specially selected, ripened and totally healthy batches from the best vines are harvested by hand, sorted and stored in our Georgian kevries / clay amphorae which are buried in the ground. Maceration, alcoholic and malolactic fermentation takes place here for months on end without any additives and technical intervention but with goodwill and constant tastings. In certain cycles immersion takes place and thereby a dampening of the cap which has risen up. At the beginning impetus is initiated through escaping fermentation carbonic acids. The sedimentation of the seeds, skins and berry components set in after several weeks. The raw diamond wine is what appears above the mash in the amphorae.

In the case of the present vintages, the separation of the mash takes place after just 4 months through siphoning off the red wine and pressing the damp cake of mash through sieve surfaces. The resulting wine is entrusted for a further 4 months to the amphorae. In the early summer it is too warm outside so we take the wine into the cool cellar to earthware containers  (700 l “clay eggs”) or vats made of different types of wood and of varying toasting levels. After 2 further years of storage it is bottled totally unfiltered without or with only the smallest amount of sulphor added.

Reinheit und Verbundenheit kosten.

Was ist Natural Wein oder Orange Wine?

Die Begrifflichkeiten sind hier nicht durchgängig besetzt. Grundsätzlich beschreibt Orange Wine einen Weinstil, der nach einer bestimmten Methode hergestellt wird. Es ist ein maischevergorener Weißwein (Pendant zum Rosé – nicht maischevergorener Rotwein) der durch diesen Prozess mehr Farbe und kräftige Tannine (Gerbstoffe) aufnimmt. Das verleiht Struktur und ist deutliches Unterscheidungsmerkmal zu herkömmlichen Weißweinen. Orange bezeichnet man als vierte Weinfarbe. Die vierte Weinfarbe hat Ihren Ausgang (wie alle anderen Weine auch) im fruchtbarsten und wertvollsten Kulturland Georgien genommen. Nur weil er so heißt, muss die Farbe allerdings nicht unbedingt Orange sein, Farbspektrum ist vielfältig. Auch eine Trübung durch in Schwebe befindlicher Hefepartikel ist möglich und keine Qualitätsminderung. „Bei uns gibt`s viele archaische, maischevergorene unfiltrierte bernsteinfarbene Weinwerke!“

Bernstein zeigt besondere Echtwein-Qualität

Selbstredend sind Orange Weine für uns zwingend aus Bioerzeugung. Keine synthetischen und systemischen bzw. tiefenwirksamen Fungizide oder Insektizide auf den Beeren. Keine Auslaugung von lebensfeindlichen Stoffen aus den Schalen und Beeren. Archaische maischevergorene unfiltrierte bernsteinfarbene Weine – Mazeration, Vergärung, Malolaktik und Ausbau auf Schalen in 600 l Startin beim Blanca. Essenzen aus Amphoren – Mazeration, Vergärung, Malolaktik bis 1 Jahr in georgischen Qevries, Ausbau bis 24 Monate in großen unglasierten Tonamphoren. Charakter, Vielschicht & Potenzial durch feinstoffliche Weinwerdung. „Erden & Irden!“

Du wirst, was du trinkst!

Natural Wein als Ergebnis einer Haltung

Hinter ‚Natural Weine‘ steckt mehr als ein Weinstil. Premiumweine ohne Additive, und technologische Eingriffe nach Sorten & Jahrgang bis 36 Monate im getoasteten 600 l Startin, als archaische maischevergorene unfiltrierte bernsteinfarbene Weinwerke, wobei die Essenzen aus Amphoren die Krönung sind. Weiss wie Rotwein auch mal unfiltriert mit/oder ohne Schwefelzusatz gefüllt. Hier entscheidet die Philosophie, der ideologische Zugang zum Weinmachen über das Ergebnis. Produktion beginnt im Weingarten, im Keller wird minimalistisch gearbeitet, um möglichst unbehandelte und unverfälschte Weine zu erzeugen.

PLO_amphoren4

Wie der Echtwein von Ploder-Rosenberg entsteht

Besonders eigenständig und beständig ist die Praxis in Qevries (Amphoren aus speziellen Tonerden) aus ganzen Trauben und Beeren in bis zu überjährigen Mazerationen, alkoholischen und malolaktischen Fermentationen & Ausbauzeiten eigenständige, auch sehr tiefgründige, haltbare Weine entstehen zu lassen. Vermehrt gesunde Inhaltstoffe sowie wohltuende Schwingungen aus der Kraft der Erde sind hier inklusive.

Seit vielen Jahren wachsen unsere biologisch dynamisch gezogenen Weinstöcke hier in unseren überaus divers gestalteten Wein Gärten im Vulkanland Steiermark. Ausgewählte physiologisch gereifte und absolut gesunde Chargen von den besten Stöcken werden handverlesen, nachsortiert und in unsere vergrabenen georgischen Qevries / Tonamphoren eingelagert. Mazeration, alkoholische und malolaktische Vergärung werden hier monatelang ohne jegliche additive & technische Interventionen mit Wohlwollen und ständiger Verkostung begleitet. In gewissen Zyklen finden ein Untertauchen und damit ein Anfeuchten des aufgestiegenen Tresterhutes statt. Sowie anfangs Auftrieb durch entweichende Gärungskohlensäure stattfindet, setzt nach einigen Wochen die Sedimentation der Kerne, Schalen und Beerenbestandteile ein; Der Rohdiamant Wein steht über den festen Bestandteilen in den Amphoren.

Beim den aktuellen Jahrgängen erfolgte nach knapp vier Monaten durch Abschöpfen des Rohweines und Ausdrücken des feuchten Maischekuchens über Siebflächen die Trennung von der Maische. Der gewonnene Wein wird für weitere vier Monate den Amphoren überantwortet. Im Frühsommer wird es im Freien zu warm – wir ziehen den Wein in den kühlen Keller auf irdene Gefäße (700l Toneier) und / oder Fässer unterschiedlichster Hölzer und Toastingstufen. Nach weiteren zwei Jahren Nachlagerung wird unfiltriert ohne / oder mit geringstem Schwefelzusatz auf Flasche gezogen.