The people on Rosenberg

You really have to get to know them! The family together with their team of hard-working employees have been working their 12.5 ha. of wine gardens since 2006 using biodynamic methods – loving life, laughing, crying & producing masterfully crafted creations. From our partner Robert Lieschnegg, who is also an approved DEMETER winegrower, we also process additional grapes from a further 3 ha of wine gardens.

PLO_familie9

The Team

Plant life: Alfred and Manuel are supported by Stefan (trainee), Wwoofers and seasonal employees. In the cellar Manuel is assisted by Alfred. Maria, Alfred, Manuel and Christine are involved in administration and sales.

Alfred Ploder

Winegrower

Comprehensive education and graduation from agricultural college, commercial college for fruit trees, viticulture, master of fruit tree cultivation, wine grower and cellar master, agricultural business training, certified training in biological winemaking, study of herbs and spices, permaculture academy, graduate in winemaking, anthroposophic training both at home and abroad, visionary and dynamic developer of valuable models and systems outside the main stream of society. Hobbies and interests: Listening to the radio, reading, travel, good food & wine, philosophising……

“Wines of character and their creators go their own way. They might be less diplomats then originals, but they are fundamentally direct, honest to goodness, authentic folk of character and valuable to those who make them strong!”

Maria Ploder

Go-getting and totally unflappable with an overview of everything

Fully qualified sales assistant, additional qualifications in decoration, design, cuisine, grafting; agricultural business schooling, qualified sommelier with degree, certified herb specialist and training in permaculture; First contact person in sales, office, finance, appointments. Hobbies and interests: Enjoying life, cooking, gardening, traveling, listening to the radio, enjoying the great outdoors in the fresh air…….

“The only constant in life is change!”

Manuel Ploder

Winegrower & Wine guide

Born in the sunny month of June, this is reflected in his joy for life towards wine, plants and also the liquid essences that flow through all things. After some years of school and viticulture as well as other specialist subjects, Manuel has put his theory into practice and strengthened and extended this through courses at home and abroad. Since the 2011 harvest, wines by Ploder – Rosenberg bear his trademark.

“My land will show who I am”

Lydia Ploder

networker, fairy with a lots of talents

Of the 1986 vintage, she is a graduate of wine marketing at HAK in Leibnitz, law student at Graz University, passionate about extreme sports, enjoys yoga and being in the vineyards as the balance in her life, loves experimenting in the kitchen and is interested in various forms of nutrition. Prefers white wine to red and just loves coffee. In the vineyard she is their “Girl Friday” but in particular as system administrator with an affinity for marketing, presentations and sales.

“Water is the best of all – but one can’t always have the best!”

Stefan Balacicz

cultivation of the gardens

Stefan is since 1990 at the winery. He takes care of the vineyards and helps at harvest time in the cellar. He loves to be in the forest.

Christine Tischler

Multitalent in the administration

Christine is since 2016 at the winery.

PLO_tropfen2

The Winery over the years

 “When you make a Decision, the Universe conspires to make it happen!” Permaculture is increasingly becoming an integral part of our wine estate – all according to the approved standard of Demeter quality. The lines of “Feine Klassiker” and “Naturial’ s” with the premium and Reserve wines – are preparing the way for the well established archaic, skin fermented, amber-coloured and unfiltered works of wine; All new and replacement plantings are using PIWIs (fungus resistant varieties). It is our intention to extend our range of wine using more styles of wine!

2015

Recognised Demeter business of the highest reputation in the Vulkanland area of Styria, Austria. We’ve found ourselves! Highest degree of transparency, strict routines for daily work & procedures, continuation of quality and further development lets our vineyards clearly become gardens of wine.

2012

The first essences from amphorae are bottled and marketed as “Real wine from Ploder – Rosenberg” Addition of the areas of “Steinriegel” and “Mitteregg” to our own land. Purchase of additional grapes from non-certified bio producers no longer takes place. Manuel has his first harvest and takes over responsibility for the cellar.

2010

First certified bio harvest as confirmed by state and institutional controlling authorities.

2009

No more small animals. All our areas of cultivation are in the last transitional year. Limitations on purchase of additional grapes and determination of biodynamic alternative production. The Sauvignon Blanc line is now skin fermented.

2008

First skin fermentations in stone containers. We have been supported and motivated for years by bio pioneers and trainees in our interesting development work and training in biodynamic agriculture.

2007

All our areas of cultivation will now be cultivated using biodynamic principles. Start of huge amounts of work for all those involved in the winery.

2006

Expansion of the vineyard areas to Eichholz, Milchkeller and Kreuzfeld. First significant plantings of PIWIs (fungus resistant grape varieties). Change in the new cultivation areas to biodynamic methods. Instead of 300 l barriques being used, toasted 600 l stettins are obtained. No more wooden barrels.

2005

Extension to the winery of an innovative seminar, tasting and office building. We acquire additional support in sales as well as in organisation.

2003

Additional vineyard area at “Kapellen”. Loyal sales partners enable us to bring increased quality onto the market.

2001

Additional vineyard area at “Lutenberg”. We happily obtain more wooden barrels for long term storage of works of wine.

2000

Garden areas round the cellar are finished. Inspirations from art and culture tastefully enrich our design room and motivate our wine drinking buddies!

1998

Eradication of apple tree cultivation areas and extensive expansion of the vineyards with “Alte Riede, Ettigarten & Luttenberg.” More and more wines from Ploder – Rosenberg surprise and delight!

1993

100% of the wine production bottled in 0.75 l bottles is labeled as quality wine. All orchards are protected with hailstone nets. Top producer of handmade fruit juices and nectars.

1989

For the first time premium batches are matured in small barriques

1986

Maria and Alfred Ploder take over the business of winemaking, fruit and fruit juices. Extensive purchase of grapes from contractual partners compensate for their own small amount of cultivation area in the vineyards.

1982

Alfred Ploder vinifies his first vintage according to his own ideas and perceptions. Strawberries are planted.

1976

Further planting of fruit trees (mainly apple trees) and vineyards

1968

First premium vines – Weissburgunder and Samling 88 are planted

1964

Planting of apples, pears, plums, cherries, red currants and tobacco in the dynamic, small farm. In the vineyard there are direct producer vines for our own use.

PLO_weingarten9

Enjoy Demeter Wine by Ploder – Rosenberg – Experience Decelerated Wines

When the vine is born, it doesn’t grow immediately.

When its big, it doesn’t blossom immediately.

When it blossoms, it doesn’t immediately bring forth grapes

When it produces grapes, the berries are not immediately ripe.

When the berries are ripe, it doesn’t immediately result in wine. When wine has come about, it is not immediately mature.

When wine is mature, it gives forth happiness. Flowers blossom due to the sun. People through

Love!!

Die Menschen am Rosenberg

Muss man einfach kennenlernen. Die Familie samt tüchtigen Mitarbeitern bearbeiten seit 2006 biodynamisch 12.5 ha Wein Gärten, lieben Leben, lachen, weinen und schaffen meisterlich handwerkliche Erzeugnisse. Von unserem Partner Robert Lieschnegg, ebenfalls DEMETERWINZER, verarbeiten wir zusätzlich die Trauben von weiteren 3 ha Weingärten.

PLO_familie9

Das Team

In den Kulturen Alfred und Manuel unterstützt von Stefan, PraktikantenInnen, Wwoofer und saisonale MitarbeiterInnen. Im Keller Manuel unterstützt von Alfred, in der Verwaltung und Verkauf Maria, Alfred, Manuel und Christine.

Alfred Ploder

Weingärtner

Umfangreiche Ausbildung samt Abschluss landwirtschaftliche Handelsschule, Obstbauchfachschule, Weinbaufachschule; Obstbaumeister, Weinbau- und Kellermeister, Bäuerliche Unternehmerschulung, Zertifizierungslehrgänge für biologischen Weinbau, Kräuterpädagogik, Akademie für Permakultur; Weinakademiker, anthroposophische Ausbildungen im In- und Ausland, Visionär und umtriebiger Entwickler wertiger Modelle und Systeme abseits des Mainstreams. Radio hören, Lesen, Reisen, Essen, Wein trinken, philosophieren …..

„Charakterweine und deren Erzeuger gehen individuelle Wege, sind weniger Diplomaten denn Originale, aber: Von Grund auf direkt, ehrlich, echt & wertvoll auch die, die sich dafür stark machen!“

Maria Ploder

Umtriebiger Ruhepol samt Übersicht über Alles

Ausgebildete Einzelhandelskauffrau, Zusatzqualifizierungen in Dekoration, Gestaltung, Kochkunst, Veredelung; Bäuerliche Unternehmerschulung, Diplomsommeliere, Zertifizierte Kräuterpädagogin, und Ausbildung in Permakulturen; Erste Ansprechperson für Verkauf, Büro, Finanzen, Termine. Genießen, Kochen, Garten, Reisen, Radiohören, Bewegung in der frischen Luft…

„Nichts ist beständiger wie der Wandel!“

Manuel Ploder

Weingärtner & Weinbegleiter

Geboren im sonnigen Juni. Lebensfrohes Wesen welches sich dem Wein, in Form der Pflanze wie auch der flüssigen Essenz in all ihrer subjektiven AusdrucksArt(en) hingezogen fühlt. Nach den Jahren der schulischen Grundbildung und deren Aufweitung in weinbaulichen, wie auch anderen fachlichen Belangen hat Manuel sein theoretisches Wissen durch Praktika und Kursen im In- wie auch Ausland gestärkt und erweitert. Ab der Lese 2011 sind Weine von Ploder – Rosenberg mitunter von seiner Handschrift geprägt.

„Mein Land wird Zeigen, wer ich bin!“

Lydia Ploder

Netzwerkerin, Fee mit vielschichtigen Talenten

Weltweinjahrgang 1986, Absolventin der Weinmarketing – HAK Leibnitz, Studentin der Rechtswissenschaften der KF Universität Graz, leidenschaftliche Ausdauersportlerin (IRONMAN Finisherin), Yoga als Ausgleich (auch gern im Weingarten), experimentierfreudig in der Küche und interessiert in unterschiedlichste Ernährungsweisen, eher duftige Weißweine als Rotweine, Kaffee liebend. Am Weingut das „Mädchen für alles“ – und insbesondere als Systemadministratorin mit einer Affinität fürs Marketing, Präsentationen und Verkauf.

„Wasser ist das Beste überhaupt _ aber man/frau kann nicht immer das Beste haben!“

Stefan Balacicz

Pflege der Gartenanlagen

Stefan hegt und prägt das Weingut seit 1990 mit. Seine geschickten Hände kümmern sich um diverse Tätigkeitsfelder in den Weingärten, den Permakulturhügeln, den Maschinen wie im Herbst auch im Keller. Der Wald wirkt auf Stefan eine besondere Anziehungskraft aus.

Christine Tischler

Multitalent in der Verwaltung

Christine gestaltet das Weingut seit 2016 mit. Ihre talentierten Fertigkeiten bringt sie im Büro wie auch im Verkauf ein. Dankenswerterweise bekocht sie des öfteren hervorragend die Crew. Genussvolle Zeit verbringt sie des weiteren liebend gerne mit Ihrer Familie, Markus und Nico, an und in Österreichs erfrischenden Seen.

IMG_2090
PLO_tropfen2

Das Weingut über die Zeit

2015
„Wenn du dich auf den Weg machst, öffnet der Horizont seine Grenzen!“ Permakultursysteme finden vermehrt Eingang in unserem allumfassenden Weinbauernhof – alles in anerkannter Demeterqualität; Die Linien „Feine Klassiker“ und „Naturial`s“ – mit den Premium- und Reserveweinen – bereiten den Weg für bestens etablierte archaische, maischevergorene, bernsteinfarbene unfiltrierte Weinwerke; Alle Neu- und Ersatzpflanzungen sowie Umveredelungen werden mit PIWI`S (pilzwiderstandfähigen Sorten) getätigt. Wir wollen vermehrt Weinstile denn Weinsorten ausbauen!

2015
Anerkannter Demeterbetrieb bester Reputation im Vulkanland Steiermark, wir haben uns gefunden: höchstes Maß an Transparenz, Konsequenz im täglichen Handeln & Tun, Kontinuität in der Qualität und Weiterentwicklung lassen deutlich wahrnehmbar unsere Weinberge zu Wein Gärten werden.

2012
Erstmals kommen Essenzen aus Amphoren unter der Linie „Echtwein von Ploder – Rosenberg“ in Flasche und Verkauf; Mit „Steinriegel und Mitteregg“ werden umfangreiche Erweiterungen der Eigenflächen getätigt. Vom Traubenzukauf von nicht zertifizierten Biobetrieben wird Abstand genommen. Manuel gestaltet seinen ersten Jahrgang, übernimmt Verantwortung im Keller.

2010
Erste zertifizierte Bio-Ernte; dies beweisen staatliche und institutionelle Kontrollstellen.

2009
Kleintiere werden eingestellt, alle unsere Flächen befinden sich im letzten Umstellungsjahr, Einschränkung Traubenzukauf und Festigung in der biodynamischen Alternativproduktion, Linea Sauvignon Blanc wird maischevergoren.

2008
Erste Maischevergärungen in Steingutgefäßen, seit Jahren unterstützen und motivieren uns Bioniere, & PraktikantInnen zu interessanter Entwicklungsarbeit und vermehrter Ausbildung in der biodynamischen Landwirtschaft.

2007
Unsere gesamten Flächen werden nach biodynamischen Grundsätzen bewirtschaftet. Jahrelange massive Ausbildungsarbeit von allen Beteiligten am Weingut startet.

2006
Erweiterung der Weingartenflächen um Eichholz, Michlkeller und Kreuzfeld, Erste nennenswerte Auspflanzungen von PIWI`S (pilzwiderstandsfähigen Reben), Umstellung der Neuanlagen auf biodynamische Bewirtschaftung, nunmehr werden statt 300 l Barriques nur mehr dickwandige getoastete 600 l Startin`s angeschafft, keine Holzfässer mehr ausgestoßen.

2005
Erweiterung des Weingutes durch ein innovatives Seminar- Verkostungs- und Bürogebäude. Nebst Unterstützung in der Außenwirtschaft erweitern wir uns auch in der Organisation.

2003
Erweiterung der Weingartenflächen mit „Kapellen“. Loyale Vertriebspartner ermöglichen uns wertige Qualitäten vermehrt auf den Markt zu bringen.

2001
Erweiterung der Weingartenflächen am „Luttenberg“, mit Vorliebe werden vermehrt Holzfässer für langlebige Weinwerke angeschafft.

2000
Gartenanlagen rund um den Keller werden fertig gestellt. Inspirationen aus Kunst und Kultur bereichern unseren Gestaltungsraum, motivieren für vinophile Höhenflüge.

1999
Kellerneubau mit zeitgemäßer Technik für schonende Traubenverarbeitung, visionäre Architektur im geradlinigen Stil mit integrierten Kunstobjekten.

1998
Rodung aller Apfelflächen und umfangreiche Erweiterung der Weingartenflächen „Alte Riede, Ettlgarten, Luttenberg“. Immer wieder sind Weine von Ploder – Rosenberg für Überraschungen bestens geeignet.

1993
100% der Weinproduktion wird als Qualitätswein auf 0,75l Flasche gefüllt, alle Obstgärten sind mit Hagelschutznetzen geschützt, Toperzeuger von handwerklich erzeugten Fruchtsäften und Nektaren.

1989
Erstmalig werden Prämiumchargen in kleinen Barriquefässern ausgebaut.

1986
Betriebsübernahme durch Maria und Alfred Ploder – Weinbau, Tafelobst und Fruchtsäfte. Umfangreiche Traubenzukäufe von Vertragswinzern kompensieren die geringe Eigenfläche an Weingärten.

1982
Alfred Ploder vinifiziert seinen ersten Weinjahrgang nach eigenen Vorstellungen, Erdbeerkulturen werden etabliert.

1968
Erste Edelweinsorten – Weißburgunder und Sämling 88 – werden ausgepflanzt.

1964
Pflanzung Spezialkulturen: Äpfel, Birnen, Zwetschken, Pfirsiche, Ribisel und Tabak am umtriebigen kleinen Bauernhof. An Weinreben stehen Direktträgerreben zur Eigenversorgung als Stockkultur im Weinberg.

PLO_weingarten9

Demeterwein von Ploder-Rosenberg genießen – Entschleunigung erleben

Wenn der Rebstock geboren wird, ist er nicht sofort groß.
Wenn er groß ist, blüht er nicht sofort.
Wenn er blüht, bringt er nicht sofort Weintrauben hervor.
Wenn er Weintrauben trägt, sind die Beeren nicht sofort reif.
Wenn die Beeren reif sind, wird daraus nicht sofort Wein.Wenn Wein geworden ist, ist er nicht sofort gereift.Wenn der Wein gereift ist, bereitet er lange viel Freude.Blumen blühen durch die Sonne, Menschen durch die Liebe!